PARENTING ADVICE FROM AN ANIMAL LOVER

I just don’t understand parents today. It seems they don’t want to parent their children; they want to be their kid’s best friend. Sheesh.

I just don’t get it. I mean, I have pets and I would bet my bottom dollar that raising well-behaved pets and good child-rearing pretty much follow the same principles.

So what’s the big deal?

Let me share some parenting advice with you that will encourage your success at raising well-behaved dependents:

It starts with attitude. Theirs. You’ve got to keep it in check. My little angels would never give me a hard time. They are happy, well-adjusted, and respectful.

               

They know perfectly well that I am the boss.

I always maintain control and I am always the leader.

They are never spoiled.

I teach them the rules. Around here, we don’t have any slackers. They both carry their own weight.

 

I have taught them about boundaries so they understand what’s expected of them and behave accordingly.

 

My babies always exhibit good behavior; even while I’m away. They never break the rules. Not at MY house. I have GOOD kids.

  

But if I do catch them misbehaving, I stay strong; because they will resort to anything to elude punishment. Even pull out their biggest weapon . . . “the look”.

  

Of course my little darlings are well adjusted, have learned respect, and always take me very seriously.

   

And shoot, all it takes is a bit of work and a touch of balance.

So, what’s the big deal anyway?

Categories: Animals, Family, Humor | 28 Comments

Post navigation

28 thoughts on “PARENTING ADVICE FROM AN ANIMAL LOVER

  1. It is hard to get past ‘the look’

  2. Mary Wloch

    Ha Ha, cute!

    • Thanks, Mary. I thought I’d lighten things up a bit. Thanks for reading and letting me know you’ve been by! xo Julia

  3. You have outlined my precise pet-parenting deficits. Good thing I don’t have kids. I would have failed miserably as a mother, I’m afraid. Hope you are doing well.
    Hugs,
    Kathy

    • OMGosh, I do every single BAD thing that a pet-mom can do! This piece was inspired as I sat on the phone and heard myself tell a friend (in regards to her daughter), “I would never tolerate that!”…..just as my puppy Baxter was running through the living room with a weewee pad in his mouth! ha ha! All of my animals have had rebelliousness issues, and as I told my good friend, Patti, I’m a dysfunctional mom. She looked at me and said, “You are the one common denominator!” ha ha ha! Thanks for reading, Kathryn. xoxo Julia

  4. Bruce A. Knerr

    Certainly does remind me of my pet and perhaps what a crummy owner I may be. Thanks for the reminder Julia!

  5. Lynn Gardner

    Lol! Love the beagle puppy and “the look” Great to read first thing in the morning, thanks Julia!

  6. Wendy Stroup

    Fabulously written and illustrated!! Consider me a new fan of your blogs!!!!! Love ya!!!

    • Oh, Wendy! I’m so happy to hear that! I thought you’d get a kick out of the pics! ha ha! As I write this, Baxter is sitting here growling at me with his “inside voice”! lol We are having a good day. You’ve helped a lot with that, so thank you. Thanks again for reading! xo Julia

  7. Joanie Woody Foote

    Hahaha, yes, ‘the look’ can last awhile. Very adorable, thanks, Jules!

  8. LOl! Sooooo funny and cute!

  9. LOVE this post! LOVE! Especially the frog! HAHAHAH… LOVE it!

    Pink.

  10. saymber

    My 3 furr girls are so spoiled lol but so sweet, well behaved and have the “look” down pat. When you talk about that I think of the Shrek’s Puss-n-boots character!

  11. Laura

    I just love this, I have definitely gotten “the look” from Princess. The little one in the bathroom reminds of my dear little Precious, whom I lost in 2007. Hmmm, I also got “the look” from her. I didn’t think my Princess was spoiled, but she just might be. Thank you for making me laugh.

    • I’m so happy to make you laugh, Laura. Thank you so much for reading. I don’t know….are you crocheting Princess little girlie dresses yet, like in the picture? LOL! Thank you for leaving me your note…it has made me smile. xo Julia

  12. Lynn Marchant

    Exactly WHO is parenting WHOM here? Any ‘Kid’ who takes the initiative and presents Mom with its soiled diaper, just HAS to be a Blessing in disguise!!! The only fault with this piece is: I got so hooked, this really ought to have been just the taster to a very charming, addictive … BOOK!!!!!

  13. Ha ha ha! Thank you so much, Lynn! Things have improved here since I started training Baxter instead of vice versa! lol We have turned a corner and are doing much better now. Thanks for reading, Lynn! xoxo Julia

  14. Joe

    Very funny!

    • Thanks, Joe. I posted a couple of my art blogs on Nat’s wall. Hope she likes them. It was great talking to you. Take care! Love you all! xoxoJulia

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com. The Adventure Journal Theme.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 446 other followers

