CONTRADICTION IS CONFUSING

I have bipolar disorder, and if you are like me and suffer with a mental or physical condition that wreaks havoc on the inside without showing on the outside, then you know that its invisibility can cause issues; because people can’t see what we’re talking about.

As much as we try to explain, they will forget, misunderstand, and doubt. Sometimes, they will even judge.

What they seldom do . . . is ask.

So why do we want to talk about it all the time?

Imagine that we’re walking in the woods and you step on a stick that cuts through the bottom of your shoe and impales your foot.

“Omg! This stick just impaled my foot! This is so painful!” you scream.

“Oh, come on, you big baby, keep up.” I casually reply and keep walking.

“NO! STOP AND LOOK AT THIS!” you shriek.

And when I stop and see your mangled, blood-gushing foot with its protruding stick, I realize the gravity of your situation and the level of your pain. My expectations change. And so does my judgment.

Therein lays the problem. We can’t point to anything and show you our pain.

We have only our words.

So we talk.

We need you to know that we can function on some days, but not others, and we’re not hypochondriacs or whiney, and we’re not exaggerating, attention-seeking, or lazy and making excuses; no, we have a big sharp-ass stick in our foot that no one else can see.

The symptoms come and go, but the stick doesn’t. It is permanently lodged. We never know which days will hurt, so our entire lives we “play it by ear”.

“But you seem so normal”.

“What do you think, I’m going to meet you for coffee when I haven’t showered for a week and I can’t stop sobbing?”

Those of us suffering “invisibly” seem normal because you only sporadically and briefly see us at our best. At our worst, we stay home and isolate. You don’t know our endless struggles. And you can’t see when we lose hope.

How could you?

We’ve learned to hide it, fake it, and adjust to it in ways you’d never imagine.

When you see us looking confident and physically fit, it’s hard to reconcile what we say, with what you see.

With me, you’ll likely see the confident, positive, jokester with a passion for life, but rarely my depressed and troubled mind. When my symptoms are unmanageable, I stay home and ride it out for however long it takes.

It’s a double life.

We have the good life that people see; where we’re attending events and looking healthy and self-assured; and we have the other one, where we suffer secluded and controlled by symptoms that leave us helpless and homebound.

I never know which life I’m going to awaken to, so when it’s the good one, I will grab hold of it like a wet dishrag and wring it dry.

It’s no wonder folks get confused.

I say that I live a tormented and isolated life, but then you see me out in the world meeting people, blogging about shows, and posting photographs of parks and sunrises.

You don’t know that my attendance anywhere is rare and that I’m usually at home on my sofa; or that photography provides the only semblance of focus or peace, and is often my only saving grace from my own mind.

I say that I have issues with large groups of people, but then you see me at a class reunion, baby shower, or art show. You don’t know that being with a group of 12 causes more anxiety than the anonymity of being with 100; or that my ever-present camera acts as a protective shield against exposure to others and helps navigate my environment so that I’m challenged with fewer inquiries and intimate interactions.

This new realization came when a friend gently and bravely inquired about the contradiction . . . and inspired this blog. That’s when I realized that understanding invisibility isn’t always so easy and that conversation enlightens everyone.

Remember the last time you smacked your head and got a big nasty lump on it, and how you made your friends feel the lump even though they didn’t want to? You needed them to fully comprehend the measure of your pain; that lump was your proof of pain.

I have only my words.

I have bipolar disorder and this is how it feels.

***

“It is only with the heart that one can see rightly; what is essential is invisible to the eye.” Antoine de Saint Exupéry, ‘The Little Prince’.

(Read, “About Me & My Journey”: http://wp.me/p2ckKM-tM, “Being Bipolar”: http://wp.me/p2ckKM-hF, and “Sensitive Steel”: http://wp.me/p2ckKM-vY).

 

Categories: Bipolar/Depression | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , | 22 Comments

Post navigation

22 thoughts on “CONTRADICTION IS CONFUSING

  1. Oh, Julia, you’ve described the experience so well Love the stick image. That works well. This is the double bind that is mental illness of any kind, especially for someone who is working to manage their symptoms, for someone who is being treated. Drives so many of us even more nuts!

    Thanks for sharing this description. You have done so beautifully and with compassion.

    Hugs from Ecuador,
    Kathy

    • Thank you so much, Kathryn! As usual, your words are a lovely gift. Blessings to you and Sara! And big hugs from Pure Michigan! xoJulia

  2. Julia I do not have bipolar disorder but I do have depression and general anxiety disorder. My anxiety is crippling. I love your words. I like this post. I am going to print it out, with your permission. I feel like even the new clinical psychologist I am going to see needs to read it. You will help me get my words out with this post. I will understand if you would rather I didn’t use it. Hugs to you. And a big shout that “I get it”. I understand.

    • Dear Pix, thank you SO much for your big shout of understanding! That is music to these overly-sensitive ears! haha. You MOST CERTAINLY can print and share my words with anyone (please put my name on it or website address), but especially a psychologist. It’s so important that we explain to everyone, but especially to the professionals. Huge hugs to you and a great big THANK YOU for reading and leaving me this special note. xoJulia

  3. Julia, this is so well expressed. I am forwarding this to my sister, whose daughter suffers from this terrible illness. Thank you for speaking out.

    • Thank you so much, Naomi! Thinking that it may help someone else means the world to me. You’ve been a wonderful support and I appreciate it. xoJulia

  4. I don’t have many hero’s. To all of us that struggle telling our story – you are a hero. You are my hero.

    • Robin, you are very generous of heart. Thank you so so much. I can’t even read your words without choking up, that’s how much they mean to me. You’re a blessing and I can’t wait to meet you! xoJulia

  5. Sheila Sullivan

    Julia: You never stop amazing me with your blogs. You have a way of putting things into perspective for people and make it all make sense! Hoorah for you and your ability. I hope your down days become increasingly less and less and that you share more blogs and phenominal pictures.

    • Thank you, Sheila. You are so kind…..and thank you for your best wishes. Your words and support have been like a gift to me. I hope someday that I have the honor of meeting you. Take good care of your precious self, girlfriend! xoJulia

  6. You say what I feel so eloquently. Thank you!

    • I’m so glad, Claudia! Thank you so much for reading my blog and leaving a comment. Take good care of your precious self. And remember, girlfriend…..you are NOT alone. xoJulia

  7. Thank you for giving us a glimpse of what you and many others struggle with each day.
    I pray that you words help shed a light on what family and friends can’t see.

  8. So well put Julia. Thank you for sharing. Everyone I’ve known with bipolar disorder has told me very similar things. It’s a one-day-one-moment-at-a-time kind of thing, isn’t it?

    • Indeed it is, George. The fact that you know others with bipolar disorder, and you LISTEN to them….speaks volumes about YOU! Thank you for being that kind of person….that us afflicted folks can talk to. You are a lifeline to them…..and have been one to me too. Thank you, my friend, for leaving me a word. It’s always so nice to see you again. Blessings to you and those you love. xoJulia

  9. Lynn Gardner

    Explained so well, you are the voice for so many people. Keep up the wonderful work, Julia! xoxo

  10. Hi Julia … you speak for so many, give comfort to all who read your explanations of this terrible disorder. Even those of us who don’t suffer with this nightmare; don’t have to live with the horror of who we will wake up with tomorrow.

    My heart is with you, my prayers surround you, may His light bless your moments now and always.

    blessings ~ maxi

  11. Thank you for your transparency and boldness to speak out, to help us understand what you and so many others deal with from day to day. And I’m in agreement with Maxi’s prayer–Amen.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com. The Adventure Journal Theme.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 461 other followers

