A CALENDAR YEAR

2011 was my year of letting go. Of grief, blame, toxicity, bad habits, excuses, and my secrets.

2012 was my year of discomfort. Getting out, making friends, and learning to be social without my usual crutches to help me. I was not only viewing life through clear eyes, I was participating in it. I left my comfort zone and started to experience all of life; the good, the bad, and the not so lovely.

2013 has been my year of preparation.

For what?

I’m not really sure.

For change, I suppose.

I’m preparing for change. And TO change.

I just need things to be different.

So I’ve been focusing on my craft and my passions, and chipping away at my projects, all with the belief that something will lead to something – will lead to something. And that if I continue to do this . . . to learn, to improve, and to try to do good with an honest heart, it will lead me to the next thing.

I dont know where I’m going.

But I don’t need to.

I know the direction. And it’s NOT north, south, east, or west.

It is, “Forward”.

Forward is . . . one step . . . in front of . . . where I am right now.

I don’t have to have all the answers. But I do have to put one foot in front of the other and take a step.

The rest comes.

We will find each other.

***

I took a baby step recently and self-published my first calendar, “2014 A Year of Pictures”, which features images of my hometown of Grosse Ile, Michigan and is available for purchase now.

1COVER

The cost is $15.00, (with 10% of the profits donated to the Grosse Ile Animal Shelter).

It can be purchased :

Here is my hometown of Grosse Ile as captured in “A Year of Pictures. It is my first calendar; but surely not my last. I’m already thinking about the photographs I’ll take for next year’s. I thank you for your support & for your friendship.

It means everything.

2JAN 3FEB 4MAR 5APR 6MAY 7JUN 8JUL 9AUG 10SEPT 11OCT 12NOV 13DEC

Categories: Downriver/Detroit, Michigan, Photography | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , | 26 Comments

Post navigation

26 thoughts on “A CALENDAR YEAR

  1. I can’t wait to see what 2014 brings!!!
    :-*

  2. You are amazing Julia….and the perfect role model.
    Good things are in store for you, I know….
    You are loved!

    • Marylou…..your words are a gift. Thank you. (And thanks for your order! It will ship out tomorrow morning!). I don’t know about being a role model…..maybe an example of how to waste the first half of your life….and then reinvent the 2nd half while you still have time! Thank you so much for your inspiring artwork and your endless support. It means the world to me. xoxoJulia

  3. I love that :) I’m in the same boat. As they say in one of my favourite movies “Meet the Robinsons” – Keep moving forward! http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7p_eKV3SzwE
    Excited to see your next steps :)

  4. Not knowing where you’re going is just fine…It leaves room for all sorts of things; things we wouldn’t have considered if ‘the plan’ was too detailed, too definite. Blessings along your way! <3

    • You are 100% correct! Sometimes planning things sucks the joy right out of the spontaneousness of life! Thanks so much for reading and for your kind words! xoJulia

  5. LOVE your recap! Ummm.. I wish I could remember what my years were like, but apparently the last three were with this blog! Can you imagine, wowee! And your renewal of your annual intentions is refreshing.. inspires me to do the same…

  6. Beautiful calendar, Julia. You’re already moving forward!

  7. Forward is a good direction, Julia! I LOVE the calendar. If I lived in the US and could afford to have it shipped to me, I’d buy one. To send it here would cost a small fortune.

    Hugs from Ecuador,
    Kathy

    • I appreciate the sentiment, Kathryn! I just reponded to your latest blog, but the computer somehow deleted it all. ugh. lol. Are catfood ornaments still available? And do you ship here? Love to you and your equally amazing partner in crime, Miss Sara! xoxoJulia

  8. A courageous and beautiful post. I wish you peace and forward momentum for 2014!

  9. When your heart & head line up & it feels good … “Just Do It”! Love your “stuff” Julia! Regards from sunny SW Fla.!

  10. Oh my goodness. Congratulations on your calendar and most especially on your forward motion. I think you are in a fabulous place. Excited to see where this takes you. :-)

  11. Forward–I like that! Sounds like a good direction to me. Nice calendar you’ve created. Blessings in 2014!

  12. When I post my blog to Facebook, it doesn’t include an image. Does anyone know why? Please advise. And thank you! xoxoJulia

  13. Joan Woody Foote

    Thx, Jules, i can so relate on “moving forward”. I want to put out there what i wish to get back. Love and kindness & may your days be bright! Xoxo

    • Thank you, Joanie! May your days be warm and full of love, my friend. Thank you for all of your support now and during this past year. It’s really meant a lot to me. xoJulia

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com. The Adventure Journal Theme.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 433 other followers

