I STOLE FROM YOU

I stole from you. Way back then.  I was an addict and a thief. I’m not making excuses; it’s who I turned into. It was wrong. I was wrong. And then I lied about it. I was supposed to be your friend.  So I’m owning it now. It’s all part of walking in this clear new world of mine. I have to close the door on my past in the right way. So I’m saying it now, ‘I am so sorry that I did that to you’.”

I had wanted to say those words for over 20 years, and in just one single humiliating and emotional moment, they are humbly spoken and graciously accepted.

I feel a weight lift off my chest . . . as another part of me is set free.

FLYING IN MIST

Categories: Mental Health, Photography | Tags: , , , , , , , , , | 16 Comments

Post navigation

16 thoughts on “I STOLE FROM YOU

  1. Marie Konczalski

    Very powerful Julia. I truly wish more people in this world would work as hard on themselves and their issues as you have done………..you are an inspiration.

  2. Desiree Mate

    Each time I read your blog I see more about your struggles as I have seen with many
    The healing comes when we relize
    and are able to face it. You are an inspiration as you share every detail of your journey. I respect your honesty and courage and treasure the strength that you show to others who struggle as well. You should be proud as you truly are growing daily:) love the calendar

    • Thank you so much, Des. I know these holidays are going to be especially difficult for your family, my thoughts will be with you all. My heart to yours, girlfriend. xoJulia

  3. Good on you Julia. I’m proud of you for saying it out loud. As a recovering alcohol addict, I know how important to get this off your chest and out into the world.

    • Yes, indeed, George! I was addicted to prescription drugs for almost 40 years of my life (4 years clean)…..but my sister was an alcoholic and lead me to the “Big Blue Book”, which I think everyone should read! Rules to live by! Thank you so much for your support and for sharing with me. And Merry Christmas, my friend. xoJulia

  4. Powerful and inspiring!

  5. Wow! I am in awe of you for doing that!

    • Oh, thank you! And you’ve made me smile today…..on this cold rainy sad day. So thank you especially. And Merry Christmas, Claudia. xoJulia

  6. Excellent. Moving forward.

  7. Thank you for being so honest with others and yourself. It inspires me to do the same.

  8. Pingback: Another List Of Awesome Bloggers You Definitely Should Check Out | Sparkonit

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com. The Adventure Journal Theme.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 441 other followers

