THE RIGHT SHOES AND A BOX OF BANDAIDS

Recently, I heard, “Oh, Julia! You’re so strong! You quit smoking after 30 years, you overcame a lifetime of prescription drug addiction, you quit drinking soda, you lost so much weight, you’ve had so many losses and you’ve let go of so much pain!”

I just smiled.

“I love you, you silly fool, but ARE YOU KIDDING ME?! Look at how incredibly WEAK I was! I smoked three packs of cigarettes a day for over 30 years, I popped pills and lived in a fog to escape from life, I ate my way through 195 pounds of comfort food, and I clung desperately to my bitterness and grief. I was one of the WEAKEST people I ever knew!”

Strength is a choice.

You don’t have to be born strong, or be a rock star, or be someone incredibly noble, and you don’t have to be super extraordinary. All you have to do is decide . . . and try. And it starts with one single, tiny, baby step in the right direction. Sometimes it’s literally putting one foot in front of the other and remembering to breathe while you’re doing it.

You know what? There IS something worse than making a mistake and falling down, and that is not trying at all. Shoot, a little humiliation and a skinned knee aren’t going to stop this old gal! Besides, I’ve learned to wear humiliation pretty well; all it takes is the right shoes and a box of Band-Aids!   

So, friends, while you’re out in the world today, if you encounter someone who is a bit too loud, or kind of pushy, or really obnoxious – try to remember that those people are usually the MOST frightened and insecure of all. Try to be patient and not to judge them too harshly. Remember, sometimes being brave and being strong have to be learned and practiced. Maybe we can teach by example through kindness and patience?

And if you’re afraid . . . that’s okay, I’m standing right next to you; just take my hand.

Categories: Addiction, Grief/Healing, Humor, Inspiration/Motivation | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , | 54 Comments

Post navigation

54 thoughts on “THE RIGHT SHOES AND A BOX OF BANDAIDS

  1. Lily Hongtian

    What a beautiful article. Love it very much!

    • Thank you, Lily! Lily and EVERYONE: Could you please go back to my blog. At the upper right hand corner is a button, “Follow Blog via Email”. Would you go and press this? That way, once a week when I post a new blog, you will be notified by email. THANK YOU SO MUCH!

  2. bravo1972

    Awesome start for a brand new blog !!! Very powerful but yet sweet article !!! ♥♥♥♥

  3. Joanie Woody Foote

    Julia, you make my heart smile! ❤

  4. Susan Shalla

    Well written and oh so true!!!

    • Thank you so much, Susan! Please go back to my blog and press the “Follow Blog via Email” button. Then you’ll be notified once a week when I post something new. Thanks so much!

  5. Beverly

    Great article- so true and honest.

  6. Lynn Marchant

    Pure Kovach Magic! Thanks, Julia!!!

  7. Mary Wloch

    Looking forward to more!

  8. Aijaz

    I am impressed. You are 100% right in your opinion. It does take a small step to get nearer to a great journey.

    • Thank you for reading, Aijaz. And thank you for your kind words! Please go back to my blog. Please press the button in the upper right hand corner called, “Follow Blog via Email”. Then, once a week when I post something new you will be notified via email. THANK YOU SO MUCH!

  9. Lynn Gardner

    Julia, you are an inspiration to us all! Love your friend, Lynn.

  10. An artist of words and inspiration!

  11. Lisa Benoist

    Great work, girlfriend!

    • Thanks, Lis! Please press button in upper right corner of blog page called, “Follow Blog Via Email” and then you will be notified once a week when I post something new to it. THANK YOU SO MUCH! xoxo

  12. andrewkjohnson

    Great work, Julia! Keep it up!

  13. Spinnler Alfred

    Food for thoughts. A change to better needs a strong will. Better to take the hand of a good friend then from a doctor. We should change before we are a patient. Women are stronger to reach a positiv change…I have to admit…at least based of the people who I know. Men will wait for the right moment to change…but when is the right moment comming? Congrat. Well done Alfred

  14. Sally Phelps

    Very nice words. Not bad for a gal who has been out of School so long. Lol, jk.

    • LOL! Thanks for reading, Sally! Please press button in upper right corner of blog page called, “Follow Blog Via Email” and then you will be notified once a week when I post something new to it. THANK YOU SO MUCH! xoxo

  15. Jeanne Bradburn

    Amazing piece of work Julia. And how true it is. You have a beautiful talant and are very inspirational.

    • Thanks so much, Jeanne! Please press button in upper right corner of blog page called, “Follow Blog Via Email” and then you will be notified once a week when I post something new to it. THANK YOU SO MUCH! xoxo

  16. Mary McTevia

    Beautifully said, Julia. I just had a Keryx in Community week-end last Thurs. – Sun. and we had some pretty tough cookies crumble under the love of God. Finally. Getting vulnerable is a hard thing to do for a lot of people. That’s how we finally learn to let go and TRUST! Great job sweets!

    • Thank you so very much, Mary! I love your words to me! Would you do me another favor, girlfriend? Please press button in upper right corner of blog page called, “Follow Blog Via Email” and then you will be notified once a week when I post something new to it. THANK YOU SO MUCH! xoxo

  17. Page Wolfer

    Will anxiously wait for your next post!

    • Thank you so much, Page! Would you please do me another favor? Please press button in upper right corner of blog page called, “Follow Blog Via Email” and then you will be notified once a week when I post something new to it. THANK YOU SO MUCH! xoxo

  18. Lindsay Martin

    So beautifully written…such words of encouragement…I look forward to your next post. And thank you.

    • Thank you so much for reading, Lindsay! I hope you choose to “Follow Blog via Email” so that you can be notified once weekly when I post something new!

  19. Desiree Mate

    Very very nice! The power of lindness shall go a long eay!

  20. susan olis

    I hope your continued journey brings hope to many others. You are an inspiration.

  21. Timari Deane

    Finally! You did it! What a beautifully designed blog page, too, to go with your beautifully written words. So proud of you!

    • Thanks, Timari! Still working on setting this up and figuring out how it works, but so far so good. Thanks so much for reading! xo

  22. Pat Petroline

    Awesome, Julia! I can’t wait for the next step on your journey.

  23. Wonderful to have discovered you. You are a courageous soul. Thanks for sharing, it is truly inspirational.

  24. Would like to refer to your post on twitter – is that ok with you – too good to be missed.

  25. nice post =) welcome to the blogosphere!

  26. Just found your blog today through the Newsherald site. I am looking forward to reading more.

    • Joyce, thank you so much for visiting my blog and taking the time to leave a comment! I’m so happy to know you! xoxo

  27. Love this one, too, Julia! I had more than 10 years of seriously fighting bipolar disorder. Strength was definitely something I learned! I still have the illness, but manage the symptoms, by choosing strength each day. Fabulous post!
    Hugs,
    Kathy

    • Oh, Kathryn….I also suffer with bipolar disorder and although I am unmedicated due to poor drug reactions, I take responsibility for my behavior at all times. These are tricky waters to navigate, these bipolar oceans, but it can be done. In the past when folks have told me, “Julia, you’re so strong!”, I felt like all of my hard work was invalidated and somehow easier for me than everyone else because I was born “so strong”. That’s what this piece is about. I had to FORCE myself at times just to put one foot in front of the other. I chose strength and all the hard work that comes with it. We have some things in common, Miss Kathryn, and I look forward to reading much more of your life in the days to come. Thank you for sharing with me and for taking the time to read my stuff! Take good care, my new friend! xoxo

  28. Love this article Julia! Way to go 🙂 Not only did you go through all those struggles, you are empowering others to do the same. You rock! Keep on shining your light to others around you 🙂

    • Thank you so much, Arianna, I appreciate your kind and supportive words! Thanks also for reading and taking the time to let me know you were here. There comes a time in life, when one just has to own who they are. I can’t go back and change anything. But I can bare it all now and hope that maybe someone can learn something from it. Maybe not make the same mistakes I did. Thanks for shining your light on me today! xo Julia

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

