MY PLACE IN THE SAND

Do you remember the doggie-paddle; the canine swimming technique copied solely to keep even the simplest of human heads above water?  

Well, I’ve spent most of my life doing it.

And apparently while I was doing this desperate and undignified dance, and expending the endless energy required just to keep my feet paddling, my lungs inflated, and my big fat head afloat, life had somehow slipped right. . . on. . . by.

I was so busy treading life’s tumultuous waters that I failed to see the lifelines that were all around me. I was so frantically intent on staying up, that I inadvertently forgot about standing up.

But today is a new day and I have finally reached the shore! This rudderless wonder now resides contentedly on the soft and yielding warmth of a safe, new beach. My exhausted paddling feet are now retired deep beneath fine, cool granules of pure white sand, while once heavy shoulders blush in appreciation at the sun’s affections. New eyes look at the ocean today and through remembered treacherousness, they now see beauty. My heartbeat has slowed and my soul is quietly and gradually healing. 

I am very protective of my little stretch of beach. I’ve spent a lifetime paddling my way, earning my way, to this treasure.

This is my time . . . and this is my place . . . where loving and compassionate friends gather to uplift, heal, and celebrate life . . . and one another.

So, when I extend my hand to you in invitation, it is because you are my friend and can be trusted to respect my priceless little home here in the sand.

Even Heaven’s greatest delight is in the sharing.

So I thank you for joining me.

Now please take off your shoes.

Categories: Humor, Inspiration/Motivation, Mental Health, Nature | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , | 35 Comments

Post navigation

35 thoughts on “MY PLACE IN THE SAND

  1. Keith Sachs

    Very, very nice. I love where you have gone with your writing

  2. Thank you so much, Keith, for reading my piece and for leaving a comment! xoxo

  3. i love your corner of the beach and i’m right there with you!!!

  4. Thanks, Arlynn! Right now I really need a real beach! I’m a lady who is in desperate need of a reeeeally long road trip! Thanks for reading! xoxo

  5. Rob

    Why would I be wearing shoes on your beautiful beach….????…. I would be in cut off jeans, a loosely fit cotton buttoned short sleave shirt, not much pattern if any, slightly wrinkled, barefoot, hair waving in the wind, a little tan, skinny as ever, but a few bumps from working out forever and some mild muscular definition, and humming a tune….

    However, I like the change of tone from very inviting to a classical response of humankind….you are welcome but,…..take off your shoes…ha ha. Very craftily done.

  6. Lisa Benoist

    Brilliant, as usual!

  7. kimberly corsi

    Julia, what a beautiful story. Yes, life can be about treading water to keep our heads above water. But if we are patient yet persistant and stay true to ourselves, we eventually find our place in the sand. I’m happy that you have found yours!!!

  8. beverlypeterson

    I enjoyed reading this. You express how so many of us feel. ❤

  9. Sally Phelps

    That’s a great analogy. I fell in the water again
    Lol

  10. Lynn Gardner

    Love, love love it! I’m now taking off my shoes……

  11. Debbie Dondzila

    Love your writing and your life’s story! I am ready to join you on that beach, barefoot and all!

  12. debbk78

    Julia I love how you write! So many have let the loveliness of life slip on by and surely can relate. I will take my shoes off and have a seat right there with you!!

  13. I love it!! Shoes are off…hey, I’ll bring lunch B)

  14. Mary Wloch

    Thanks for letting me come along with you to your place in the sand. Ahhh, mind if I stay awhile longer?

    • You most certainly can! ha ha! Thanks for reading, Mary! These comments alone comprise a pretty spectacular guest list for a lunch on the beach! ha ha! Thanks again! xoxo

  15. Dorian

    Julia,

    Beautifully written, I felt like I was reading a sonnet.

    Keep em coming,

    Dorian

    • Oh my gosh, Dori, thank you so much for that lovely compliment and for taking your time to read this and share in my journey. xoxo

  16. Desiree Mate

    I love this, we all have a place

  17. Vince

    How true Julia, put a smile on my face.

    • Thank you, Vince! I’m so happy to hear that! Thank you for reading and taking the time to leave your nice note. You’re a rock star, dude! lol xoxo

  18. Thank you for the invitation to the shore…the water feels perfect… oh how we Michiganians love our water…and I love your writing! Love patty

  19. Thank you so much, Patty, for taking the time to read and leave your lovely comment. We do love our water don’t we? When we’re not desperately treading it! lol Thanks again and I hope to see you soon! Hey, did you read the piece about the Downriver Council for the Arts that I wrote called, “Back to the Future”? I thought you might like it because I know you were away on a vaca at the time and missed the show. Take care! xoxo

  20. Elaine Rance

    A beautiful story, and such a lovely beech, I’m walking to be with you on the wonderful sand.
    Lovely story Julia, your a beautiful writer, and I love reading your articles. BRILLIANT.

  21. Thank you so much, Elaine. I’m saving you a place right next to me! Love you! xoxo

  22. Gorgeous writing, Julia! This is, indeed, an amazing image for how live sometimes feels. So glad you found your beach. Looks like I’ve found another blog to follow. You write beautifully, my friend. Love that last line about removing shoes————
    Hugs,
    Kathy

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

