NEW GROWTH

While at the checkout counter I saw a rack of these. How interesting.

This small packet has planted an idea.

Later I discover this at another store. It is a Sunflower Grow Kit.

 

This kit contains everything needed to successfully grow a sunflower. It includes the pot, seeds, growing medium, and instructions. I must supply the water, sunshine, and attention.

“Too bad they don’t sell People Grow Kits”, I muse as a new thought begins to take root, “but they don’t need to. I have within me, my own little Grow Kit.”

I possess all that I need to change or begin anew at any time I choose. It starts with an idea and the desire; the seeds of change.

And it’s all up to me.

I can’t just toss something into the dirt and wait for a flower to sprout. That’s like wanting a better life and expecting the wishing to make it so. No, it requires thought and some work.

I am responsible for gathering the necessary tools. I must prepare myself to be the dark, rich soil from which all things will grow, and choose healthy, loving people who will help nourish me. God will provide the light and the life.

But growth can be painful. And sometimes I’m like a teething puppy who constantly chews to relieve painful gums, and my development is uncomfortable not only for me, but for those around me.

At other times I am delicate and fragile and my friends are the lifelines that support me until I’m strong enough to stand on my own.

April marks one year that I am clean of the fog and sedation of unnecessary prescription drugs. One year clean . . . after nearly 40 years of addiction. It has been a year of challenge that hasn’t been easy.

But it certainly has been worth it.

“Every moment is another chance to turn it all around.” – From the movie, Vanilla Sky.

New growth is new life.   And hope.   A fresh start.

We are never too old and it is never too late.

 Photograph by Renske de Jong (from the Netherlands); amazing photographer, artist, & friend.

Categories: Addiction, Inspiration/Motivation, Nature | 29 Comments

Post navigation

29 thoughts on “NEW GROWTH

  1. Joanie Woody Foote

    There’s always hope…..thanks,Jules, for another addition! XO!

  2. A tremendous thanks for reading, Joanie! You’re always right here with me! And I appreciate it so very much. You’re the best, girlfriend! And you’ve been one of my lifelines……xoxo

  3. Lynn Gardner

    Amen! Wonderfully written and so good to be reminded that every day is a new start, thanks Julia needed that one today! 🙂

  4. I’m so glad you liked it, Lynn. Your encouragement and support have meant the world to me over this past year. You are a lifeline and a gift….and I’m so thankful for your friendship. Thank you so much for reading my stuff and taking a moment to leave your thoughtful words. xoxo

  5. this is wonderful for me to read, particularly since i’m starting a completely new chapter too!

    • Arlynn, you will do wonderfully! I have a feeling that you’re a girl who is very resiliant and will land on her feet. I always wish the very best for you! Sorry to have missed your party. Congratulations! And thank you so much for reading! xoxo

  6. When I was a little girl may Grandpa had a garden filled with Sunflowers. Your srory reminded me of this. Sunflowers grow in the warmest light. xoxo

    • So do people, Bev. Yes? I’m glad that my story reminded you of something warm and comforting like your Grandpa. Thank you so much for reading and sharing your light with me! xoxo

  7. kimberly corsi

    Sunflowers are my favorite. What a beautiful story, and so true. I love your inspirational thoughts and your ability to put it on paper. Thanks, Julia!!!

  8. Love the growth metaphor at work here. It’s perfect. And congrats on a year’s sobriety. Is that what you call it, even when the issue isn’t alcohol? I know how hard it is for me just to deal with the foods I feel addicted to. I can’t imagine if it were drugs of some kind. It must have been and must continue to be a challenging journey. Thanks for sharing it here with those of us who love your blog. Blessings to you, my friend.
    Hugs,
    Kathy

    • Thank you, Kathy. It’s been a challenge, for sure, but not nearly as difficult as I had imagined in my over-active brain! My montra for 2011 and well into this year is, “Just breathe…..” it has served me well and gotten me through some difficult moments. I have transferred my addiction to food as well…primarily fruit (cuz I’m vegetarian) – I really have a thing for grapes these days! LOL! People say that at least it’s healthy food – but I say, “not if you eat 3 lbs at once!” Ha ha! Hey….one thing at a time. And one day at a time. Thank you so very much for reading, Kathy, and for taking time from your busy-ness to drop me a thoughtful word. These wonderful comments are the fuel that keep me going! Hugs back to you, girlfriend! xoxo

      • Grapes are good. Though I’m not allowing myself to actually eat them, I crave sweets–cake, cookies, etc. If I were left on my own and imposed no imitations, I could live on Toll House cookies and white cake with butter cream icing. I also love bread and butter. Oh no, now I’m hungry!

      • Ha ha ha! You are SO funny! I crave the carb-sweets too…..when I do….I just pop another grape! lol Thanks for your amusing words and the smile you’ve delivered to me this morning! xoxo

  9. Congratulations on the first of many blessed and “fog-free” years. Thank you for the much needed sunshine you have contributed to all of us :*

    • Patti….you have been such a blessing and one of my greatest supports…not to mention a lifeline and a therapist! You’re the best and I adore you! Thank you for the congratulations and for helping me to be a better person. You are a perfect example of what a friend looks like. Thank you for sharing with me and for always taking the time to read. xoxo

  10. Vince

    Beautiful. God Bless

  11. chiarahatch

    Congrats on your challenge sweet sis!!! You definetely are a winner !!! I’m so very proud of you !!….What an incredible and unique experience you are going through !!!xx Your blog is an *inspiration* for all of us. Thank you dear Julie!!! ~Love and hugs~xxxxx

  12. Thank YOU, dear Chiara! For reading and for saying the sweetest and most loving things. I will hold your words close to my heart…..xoxo

  13. Mary Wloch

    I’m so glad that you chose hope, kindness, and love as your path towards a renewed life. You are an inspiration!

  14. Thank you so much, Mary. Your words inspire me to do and be better! Thank you for reading and leaving your lovely note! It means a lot to me! xoxo

  15. Reblogged this on Pulsar1's Blog and commented:
    A very thought provoking and honest post.

  16. Your analogies are relevant and insightful. So honestly written and that takes courage! In sharing your journey it is a good system you have about recognizing the times of fragility, as a newly planted flower or tree that requires nurturing…and the strength to give others the support they need with whatever issues they might be having. Continue the good work, Julia, it has merit and meaning.
    Denise

  17. Thank you so very much, Denise, for reblogging and for the lovely and thoughtful words. I appreciate your kindness more than I could ever say. Thank you again. xoxo

  18. Vince

    As I read it a second time, I got something more from it. Your words are like art, when you look at it differently a new meaning emerges. Keep it up.

    • Omgosh, Vince, that’s the nicest compliment! Thank you so much! You just refueled this old gal! ha ha! Honestly! What a wonderful thing to say. Thank you again. (I can’t even believe that you read it twice! lol). Take good care, my friend. xoxo

  19. Desiree Mate

    Julia once again I love your blog. The pack of seeds reminds me of all the grow kits I have been seeing. Because I love gardening I see new life each day. Sometimes the emotions just come through. I look at my sign in my garden and it reminds me of our never ending friendship. As growth is recieved in many different ways. As you have made a mildstone in your life and share it with us you will encourage another to take the same journey. God bless you Julia I am very proud of you and look forward to reading more of your blogs. Xoxoxo

    • Thank you so much, Des. I hope you’re right about some of this helping someone else. That would be my greatest reward. Thanks for reading and for your wonderfully kind words. Love to you & Joe! xoxo Julia

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

