DAD, I REMEMBER

Dad, I remember . . . as a child jumping at the chance to bring you your morning coffee.  I would slowly tiptoe across the room, trying intently not to spill a drop.  Your smile was my greatest reward for arriving with at least half of a cup remaining.

Dad, I remember . . . all of us kids wrestling with you. We’d pile on top of you in a jubilant heap of arms and legs. Mom waited in the wings for the inevitable injury and would shake her head in astonishment as she watched yet another tearful child receive her hugs, recover, and quickly rejoin the pack.

Dad, I remember . . . the time you took me fishing.  We arose with the sun and shared the lake with the misty silence and the early morning chill.  I hardly noticed the small pool of water in the bottom of the boat that seeped into the hole of my tennis shoe. With quiet anticipation, I focused on the red and white striped bobber at the end of my fishing line. If I moved my eyes I’d miss the fish. With realization, I looked at you . . . this was so much more.

ROW BOAT ON LAKE

Dad, I remember . . . having dinner with you in the morning after your midnight shift at the plant. Your tired face notwithstanding, you were my first crush on a man in uniform.

Dad, I remember . . . dancing with you on my wedding day and resting my head on your shoulder.   The safety of your arms brought me comfort like a warm, soft blanket, and took me to a magical place that daughters dream of.

ME & DAD

When I was just a child, you were so many things to me.

Now, as a woman, I thank you for those memories, and for being the person that I needed you to be.

You are still my comfort, my safety, and the best man I know.

Happy Father’s Day, Dad.

DAD

I love you.

Categories: Family, Holidays/Birthdays, Love, Poetry | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , | 40 Comments

Post navigation

40 thoughts on “DAD, I REMEMBER

  1. You two are truly blessed!

  2. Thank you, Patti. I am very lucky to have such memories and to have the Dad I needed when I was a young girl. As I’ve aged, I’ve come to view my Dad in a more realistic way, more as a real person than as an image. He still holds his own. He’s just a good man. Thanks for reading, girlfriend. xoxo Julia

  3. Elaine Rance

    This is beautiful Julia , I loved reading it. It’s amazing. From Elaine Rance. Xx

  4. Lynn Gardner

    That was beautiful, Julia! I’m sure anyone reading this will think of their own dad through your words….xoxo Lynn

    • Thanks, Lynn. I can imagine that Father’s Day can be rough for some people. I’m sorry for those who’ve lost a Dad that they loved deeply, and for those whose Dad just wasn’t what they needed him to be. It’s a difficult thing…all these human emotions. Thanks so much for reading and for your kind words. xoxo Julia

  5. A lovely piece, so wonderfully sung. Thank you. 😀

    Pink.

  6. Pat

    Beautiful Julia. Said my goodbyes to my Dad on Saturday as we brought his ashes home to Ohio to rest with Mom. This piece truly touched me. Thank you.

    • Thank you, Patti. I’m so sorry for your loss. It must be so very difficult. I’ve lost others in my family but am blessed to still have my parents. I will think of you on Sunday….Thank you so much for reading my stuff and for taking a moment to leave me a word. May God bless you and your family. xoxo Julia

  7. kimberly corsi

    Beautiful Julia!!! Makes me remember precious moments only a loving father can give a daughter, but so very little time of 13 years I had spent with my dad before he was taken from us. Even though it was a short time, I still have so many wonderful memories of the times we spent together, and the fun we used to have. After 40 yeats, I still miss you dad.

    • I’m so sorry that you lost your dad so young, Kim. And I can imagine that Father’s Day must be difficult, with folks gathering and celebrating. I feel for those of you who have lost your fathers and miss them. Thank you for reading and for sharing your heart with me. xoxo Julia

  8. Oh what a dear, dear post, Julia. Your dad sounds like a sweet man and an amazing father. Happy Father’s Day to him. Thanks so much for sharing him with us!
    Hugs,
    Kathy

    • Kathryn, thank you so much for reading and leaving me a kind word. My Dad isn’t particularly outstanding or remarkable….but there’s a lot to be said for stable, kind, hard-working, and loving. Who could ask for more than that, ‘eh? Sometimes, later as we age, it’s difficult to accept that our parents aren’t perfect, or as we had imagined them to be….but that’s part of our growing up and maturing process. Accepting that they are just people…..Always a blessing to hear from you, Kathryn, thank you. xo Julia

  9. What a beautiful letter! You have inspired me to do the same.

  10. What a wonderful tribute to your Dad, Julia! I love to read about this kind of childhood memories…..probably since I never had any quite like that. You are truly blessed!

    • You are right, Deb, I have been blessed. My Dad worked a lot of 12-hour midnight shifts at Ford Motor Company and so us kids kind of crossed paths with him in the morning (for breakfast/dinner), or on the weekends. The rest of the time he was sleeping or at work. But when we had vacations or family things, he always made good memories with us. I am very lucky indeed. I’m sorry that your memories aren’t quite as precious. It makes me sad for you. Thank you so much for reading and for taking the time to leave me a nice note. It means so much to me. xoxo Julia

  11. Susan Shalla

    What a beautiful tribute to your father. I hope the two of you can enjoy and share the special bond daughter’s have with their fathers!!!!

    • Thank you so much, Susan, for reading my stuff and taking the time to leave me a note! I appreciate it so much! xoxo Julia

  12. Vince

    Nicely done

  13. Thank you Julia for this beautiful blog !! The bond between father and daughter is truly magical . We are so lucky to have such a great blessing in our lives . You definetely inspired me to cherish and appreciate my daddy even more …~Sending you lots of love and blessings ~♥

    • Thanks, Chiara! I’ll bet you make your Father SO proud. I appreciate your kind words and I thank you for taking the time to read my stuff and leave me a note. It means the world to me. You’re the best, girlfriend! xoxo Julia

  14. Jeff

    Julia,
    Well said, as always. I enjoy your posts. My dad passed away in ’09 but, like you, I was lucky. I shared many great experiences with him. So, your column is a reminder to me that this Sunday I will celebrate his life.

    • Thank you so much, Jeff, for reading and leaving your note. I’m so sorry that you lost your Dad; I know how difficult it is to lose someone you love. I’m happy to know that you have wonderful memories of him. My Dad stays home quietly with Mom these days and doesn’t do much, but I tried to celebrate and honor him through this blog. Thanks for being so kind and sharing a part of your dad with me. xoxo Julia

  15. Lynn Marchant

    Dear Julia Kovach … PLEASE frame this piece. It is so utterly PRICELESS. Put it on wider display, so The World experiences your unique gift: for enveloping reader upon reader, in your own heightened emotion. To be drawn into your lyrical World, is as always … just PURE JOY!

  16. Thank you so much, Lynn. xoxo Julia

  17. saymber

    He’s as lucky to have you as you are him Julia. Your love shines in this writing. Thank you for sharing it.

  18. Thank you so much, Saymber (?)! Is this your first name? I checked your blog but I’m unsure. But thank you so much for reading and leaving your very sweet note. xoxo Julia

  19. Laura

    This is just beautiful, Julia. With a father like that, you are a very rich lady indeed.

  20. Thank you, Laura. I have many friends who have not been as fortunate, so I understand how blessed I am. Thanks for reading! xoxo Julia

  21. i am happy i chanced on this webpage. thank you for sharing with us.http://www.ciflaclube.net

  22. Sheila

    Beautifully written, Julia. I am glad to know that you appreciate the Dad that you had as a child and as an adult. The appreciation is his best gift of all. Your parents obviously did a great job as a family.

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

