WOULD I GRIEVE A SUNRISE?

Driving in my convertible, my hair goes wildly to the wind; I honor his birthday with my display of freedom and my disregard for someone else’s thought of it.

The Angel Statue silently greets me, surrounded as she is by a hexagon of paving bricks.

I kneel.

“Happy birthday, sweetie. Mamma’s here.”

006

For many years my grieving was trapped internally; tearing at things as it bounced about trying to find its place.

Today, I wear it on the outside . . . let it breathe and know the air. Without pride or care of observation, I come and kiss his name. It isn’t sad. This memory brick is like a Christmas tree.

CHRISTMAS TREE

Not meant for quiet repose in a solitary heart, it longs for light and decoration, and celebratory songs to warm it. It is in the sharing that the greatness comes.

Would I grieve the sight of a beautiful sunrise . . . because the rising is done and it is now a new day?

“Sunrise in Petoskey, Michigan”, by Julia Kovach.

*****

For more information on the Christmas Box Angel Statue and the DECEMBER 6TH CANDLELIGHT VIGIL at Angel Statues across the country, please read, “An Author, An Angel & A Healing Brick” at: http://wp.me/p2ckKM-nx .

Any may God bless all our baby angels and the ones who have lost them.

*****

Categories: God/Spiritual, Grief/Healing, Nature, Photography | Tags: , , , , , , , | 25 Comments

Post navigation

25 thoughts on “WOULD I GRIEVE A SUNRISE?

  1. Beautiful, loving words from a healing heart :-*

  2. I cannot begin to understand your loss or your pain and have no words to help ease it. What I do know is that you have a true gift of expression. My thoughts and prayers are with you today as you celebrate your son’s birthday. (((hugs)))

  3. What a beautiful celebration in the face of such great pain. Hugs to you, dear Julia.
    Kathy

    • Thank you so much, Kathryn. Please re-read this blog and see the pics I added. Thanks, girlfriend. Love to you and Sara. xoxo Julia

  4. Julia, I am thinking of you today and always. ❤

    • Thank you, Bev. It is a great comfort having your love and support. It means the world to me. Thank you. xoxo Julia

  5. Lynn Marchant

    Our World is filled with Mothers and Children. A Birthday Tryst for a Mother in The Material World, with a Child In Spirit has to be a rarity: both Blessed and Beautiful. Julia is endowed with a Gift, which allows her to construct poetry of such purity – it serves as A BRIDGE, between Two Worlds. Reading this lyric was to eavesdrop on a miraculous meeting between The Two. My heart cried out with emotion. Then, it sang … and I found myself smiling gently – as The Two Souls united via the most precious gift Julia Kovach could have given her Son: a Bridge From Here To Eternity. I intruded on a joyous Birthday Reunion, with an outpouring of Precious Love, which I swear I felt … from BOTH sides.

    • Gosh how I love you, dear Lynn. Thank you. My eyes are filled with tears and my heart with gratitude for your loving words. As always, you have my heart. xoxo ❤

  6. Desiree Mate

    Very beautiful Julia, I thank god each day for having someone so special in my life. Your ability to put feelings into words and to share so much with others is a wonderful quality. I enjoy all your writings and hope you continue to heal. My thoughts and prayers are with you always. God bless you Julia, your writings are healing for many xoxoxo.

    • Thank you, Des. If even a single piece of my writing helped someone else, it would be worth every ounce of effort I ever put forth. Thanks so much for reading and leaving me a note. Love you, girlfriend! xoxo Julia

  7. One of the strongest, bravest, most beautiful poems I’ve read in a very long time. I’m printing it out. You are a talented woman Julia, and you have a gift to share with the world.

    • Thanks so much, Heather. Coming from a mother and a gifted artist, such as yourself, I hold your words very close to my heart. Feel free to share this. Thank you. xoxo Julia

  8. A sad but understandable Journal entry…would you care to share the back story on this with me-here or email.

    • Thank you, Denise. These days, it’s not so sad as it seems…..he’s a treasure and a kind of comfort that I carry with me everywhere. He is my beacon of perspective…..thank you for reading and leaving me a note. It means a lot to me. xoxo Julia

  9. You are so welcome Julia. I believe that those we’ve lost who were special people in our lives are always with us. They live on in spirit and memory. xoxo Denise

  10. Jeff Whelan

    At a loss for words here. This is beyond beautiful. Bless you.

  11. Lovely.

  12. I love the idea of a healing brick and am going to investigate how to get hold of one. As your friend said on the other page, it doesn’t ever go away and shards often appear when you don’t expect the. I was lucky enough to go on to have more children but the memory of the one lost never leaves me.
    I love how you’ve written about this in both these posts, so honest and so heart wrenching.

    Again, I send you love, one mother to another 🙂

    • I am overwhelmed with gratitude. And feel truly blessed by your comments. One child cannot replace another. The one you lost will be in your heart forever. It’s just the way it is…..sometimes causing pain, sometimes offering comfort. Please check out the website that I linked; that of the author of the book. They may be able to offer some help and I’m pretty sure they have a section on how to go about getting an angel statue. Please keep me posted. My very best wishes to you. xoJulia

      • I did check out the website, thank you. This was also more than 30 years ago but your words so moved me and I just had to respond. My very best wishes to you too 🙂

  13. I am so glad that you have. Your warm words fill my heart……it means a lot. Sometimes these “comments” are received just when I need them most. And yours has done that. It comes and finds me tearful, but leaves me with some comfort. I think you are a special person and very generous of heart. Thank you. My best wishes to you as well. xoJulia

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

