COIN TOSS

The first time he telephoned, we talked for over an hour. He made me feel light and funny and girly. And I liked it. Normally I don’t slow dance; I’m terrible at it. I get tense and become as stiff as a board. But that night on the phone, I danced. He led, but I didn’t need to follow. Because he carried me; my feet never touched the floor.

“I almost didn’t call you” he said.

“Why?” I asked.

“Oh, it just gets to be a little too much, you know? All these first dates; I wasn’t sure if I should bother.” He said.

“Really?” I asked, miffed that he wasn’t more excited, “What made you decide to call then?”

“I flipped a coin.” He said.

“WHAT?” I shrieked. “You flipped a coin?! Are you serious? Ha ha ha!”

“Yep. I flipped a coin.” He said.

“Well, what won?”

“Heads. So I called you.” He said.

The next night we met for dinner and had a wonderful evening. Our conversation was constant, natural, and excited; and our laughter seemed to last for days. I’ll bet the sparks of our attraction could be seen from afar, like the flicker of fireflies on a hot summer’s night.

After several hours, he reluctantly paid the bill and walked me to my car.

“Can I kiss you goodnight?” He asked as he gently brushed the hair from my face.

I reached into my purse and pulled out a quarter.

“I don’t know. Call it: Heads or tails?”

Categories: Humor, Romance/Dating | Tags: , , , , , | 37 Comments

Post navigation

37 thoughts on “COIN TOSS

  1. I don’t need to flip a coin to know if I like this post or not. Heads or tails it’s a hit!

  2. Awww . . . thank you so much, Patti! lol So glad to hear it! xoxo Julia

  3. Hilarious, Julia. Absolutely hilarious and delightful. Did this really happen?: Did you let him kiss you? Great story. This post should be Freshly Pressed. It’s just toooooo cute! Hope your weekend is going well, my dear!
    Hugs,
    Kathy

    • Thanks, Kathryn! And yes, it is true! ha ha ha! And yes again, he’s a lucky guy. He won the coin toss again! ha ha ha! You have a wonderful weekend too! Take care care and love to you and Sara! xo Julia

  4. Desiree Mate

    I love it, wow it is great!

  5. jeff

    Seems like a nice date. good for you

    • Thanks so much for reading, Jeff. (But between you and me, Jeff, I haven’t talked to him since! lol). Take good care! xo Julia

  6. The best response ever, a classic!!!

  7. Elaine Irey

    This is another good one Julie you just crack me up !

    • I’m so happy to hear that I make you laugh, Elaine! That’s my best reward! Thanks for reading and take good care of yourself! xoxo Julia

  8. And then?!?!?!

  9. Sally Phelps

    If only life was that simple :/

    • Sometimes it is, Sally. Rarely, but sometimes. Thanks so much for reading and leaving me a note! Take good care, girlfriend. xo Julia

  10. Gina

    Julia, what a great story! I absolutely love your response to his request at the conclusion of your date.

    • Thanks, Gina! ha ha ha! And thanks for reading and leaving me a note! It’s no wonder why I seldom date! Or should I say….they seldom ask me! lol Oh well…..Take good care! xoxo Julia

  11. Joanie Woody Foote

    It gives me hope…..and you give me, once again, laughter to delight my soul! XO, Julia!

    • There you are, Joanie! I was wondering about you! lol You’ve spoiled me with your wonderful reviews! As you know, girlfriend, there is always hope! And always something to laugh about! My mom says that as long as I keep dating, I’ll never run out of funny material! ha ha! Her one lucid moment…..lol Go figure! lol Thanks so much, girlfriend! Love to you! xoxo Julia

  12. Great story Julia!

  13. what a sweet story. I’m sure he would have called it whichever way the coin flipped.

  14. Mark j

    Great story. Did he reluctantly pay the bill because he was having so much fun or because he is cheap?

    • There aren’t too many things I’m sure of when it comes to any first or second date, but one thing I DO know about this one is . . . he wasn’t cheap. He was a lot of fun to dine with and a good conversationalist. I suspect I’ve heard the last of him though . . . Don’t ask me why – I never know why. Not sure I want to! ha ha! Thanks so much for reading, Mark. I really appreciate it. xoxo Julia

  15. Miranda Gargasz

    Cute story, Julia! Glad to have found your blog!

  16. So great to see that you are having a warm summer of interesting tosses and turns 😀 Woooo!!! Love your description! Something I definitely need to look forward to. 😀

    Pink.

    • Thanks for reading, Pink! You know, I have to put myself out there . . . and when I do, I open myself up to a wonderful new friend . . . or the flipside, disappointment or possible rejection. It’s worth the risk. A wonderful new friend is a great thing. And rejection? Well, I don’t exactly get used to it, but let’s just say that it doesn’t sting so much after a while! lol Thanks for taking the time to leave me a note. I appreciate it. Take good care! xoxo Julia

  17. You’re welcome, girlfriend. xoxo Julia

  18. Lynn Marchant

    The twist in this tale, the panache with which it is delivered bears that unique Kovach signature: ‘GIRL POWER’. The writing is slick, tight and you just HAVE TO LOVE … how she handles HER MEN!!!

    • Ha ha ha! I don’t know about THAT, Lynn! I would say I probably don’t handle them too well at all – seeing as they aren’t flocking around my door! Ha ha! The thing I didn’t write . . . the first time I flipped the coin? We were sitting in my convertible with the top down and I flipped it RIGHT OUT OF THE CAR! Ha ha ha! Grace returns once again! LOL! No call back from the guy either……Onward…..Thanks so much for reading, dear friend! xoxo Julia

  19. Great grins!

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

