SOMEWHERE IN TIME

It’s a cool crisp autumn night as we lay in the meadow, side by side, both of us looking up at the stars.

I want to close my eyes and absorb this moment, but I’m afraid I’ll awaken to find this a dream and him no longer here. This time I’ll have to dream with my eyes wide open.

I hear his breathing and feel his heart beating next to mine, through the ground, I muse. I have fallen asleep many nights to this image. I open my mouth to speak, but don’t.

I like the cold night air snapping at my face and the smell of the damp grass and the warmth of him next to me. I try to breathe it in and save it; rare and wondrous are these moments.

He adjusts himself on the ground and pulls me into his arms. I silently thank God and look upwards, expecting to see the stars perfectly aligned. But they are beautifully scattered and look the same, only brighter and twinkling.

I want to laugh and elbow him in the ribs and say, “What in the hell took you so long?”

And then I want to bury my head in his chest and cry for all the pain I’ve ever suffered and sob to him, “What in the hell took you so long?”

But I don’t.

I long to close my eyes and be enveloped, but I’m still afraid that this is all a cruel dream and I’m not ready to know it.

I turn and look at him and choke back the tears. And silence the sentiment. And try to control the giddiness. I don’t say any of the clever things I’ve been saving up for him.

I touch his face, reluctantly close my eyes, and kiss him.

He is exactly as I remember from another place in time.

His lips move slightly from mine and I open my eyes and let my fingers touch the warmth of his mouth.

He smiles.

“What in the hell took you so long?” He whispers.

Categories: Romance/Dating | Tags: , , , , , , , , , | 12 Comments

Post navigation

12 thoughts on “SOMEWHERE IN TIME

  1. wow! who is he?

  2. Steve B.

    Love it Julia!!!

    Steve

  3. OMG, Julia, this is simply brilliant! Stunning! Hope you appreciate the value of your gift, my friend. Hugs and love to you!
    Kathy

  4. Sally Phelps

    I think it’s a really wonderful story.

  5. ethel carver

    love the ending — great writing again

  6. nice…so glad there is a happy end…and sometimes it just takes the time it takes.. no shortcuts when it comes to love…smiles

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

