PRICELESS ART

Another day, another loss . . . all great love has a cost.

Please remember just to breathe, as you take this time to grieve.

*

Life is our gift from God above, and He blesses it with love.

Some folks say these gifts don’t last, but God won’t rob us of our past.

These blessings that we receive come with no special guarantees.

One day here, gone tomorrow . . . one day joy, the next, great sorrow.

*

You won’t see that face again?

Just close your eyes, my troubled friend.

God’s gifts will never leave your heart

your memories are your priceless art.

 

One of the few pics I have of all the Kovach kids. It’s hard to believe that Teri, Chris, and Steve have all passed on. These memories are my priceless art.

 (Pic: Teri w/arms around Joe and Brenda; Chris next to her, holding Steve’s hand; me, off to the side, holding Steve’s other hand).

Categories: Grief/Healing, Poetry | Tags: , , , , , , , , , | 42 Comments

Post navigation

42 thoughts on “PRICELESS ART

  1. Sandy Leighton-Donahue

    What a beautiful piece. I am thinking of you and your sorrow, dear friend.

    • Oh Sandy, thank you. Depending on the day, for the most part, the sorrow has settled and found its place…..like stars in the sky. Thanks so much for reading and leaving me your wonderful note. xoxo Julia

  2. wonderful

  3. Oh, how dear, Julia. I, too, am sorrow for the losses you have suffered. You’re right memories–like the ones preserved in the photo–are priceless! Blessings to you today, my friend.
    Hugs,
    Kathy

    • Thank you, Kathryn. We may lose our loved ones, but we can merely close our eyes and open our hearts to visit them. . . . Blessings to you and Sara. xoxo Julia

  4. Mark Johnson

    Nice.

  5. Beverly Peterson

    Julia, This is beautiful. When you weep, know that you are not alone. Love always, Beverly

  6. Lynn Gardner

    I especially like when you said just close your eyes…..I know your brother and sisters are with you and watch out for you. xoxo

    • Thanks, Lynn. Your words always warm my heart. Thanks for reading and taking the time to leave me a sweet and supportive note. xoxo Julia

  7. Elaine

    Julie you have such a wonderful way to express your feelings and share them so well. Wonderful piece. I also think your brother and sisters are watching over you. XOXO

  8. I’m so sorry for your loss. Such a beautiful poem. I must share as I know many who have lost dear friends and family. And I love your comment, “the sorrow has settled and found its place…..like stars in the sky.” xoxo

    • Cheryl, please feel free to share with anyone….that’s my reward for writing my heart. I thank you so much for your kind words and for leaving your sweetness on my blog. So so nice of you. Take good care. xoxo Julia

  9. this made me think of the losses i’ve had and how pictures are the things we really treasure. forget botticelli and picasso. the guy with the camera is it! much love!

    • I love art! And I adore artists! But my point is that a camera is not required….our priceless art is our memories……just close your eyes. Thanks so much for reading! And please take good care in your travels! xoxo Julia

  10. Susan Shalla

    Beautiful Julia…..You have experienced so much in such a short time. To lose 3 siblings is imaginable, heart wrenching. You keep their memory alive by sharing stories. They were lucky to have such an incredible sister…..
    xoxoxo

    • Susan….thank you. You know, just when we think that we can’t endure anymore heartache, we learn that everyone around us wrestles with it as well. You’ve been challenged with SO much hardship in the last year or so since I’ve known you, and you handle it with such humor and grace. You’re a good example for the rest of us. Thank you for reading and leaving your note. Please take good care of yourself. xoxo Julia

  11. saymber

    Hugs through the wires to you Julia and an understanding. I will sometimes look at pictures of family and friends and so many are no longer tangibly here. Like bubbles being popped one by one. What brings me comfort is knowing each time I think of them and love who they were to me, they live another day.

  12. Joanie Woody Foote

    Jules,
    I believe in my heart the love we feel for them goes on & on….& they feel it, too!
    my friend, be well & at peace!
    luvU!

  13. Six siblings — the same for me. Just this morning I was thinking about how life would be with even one of them gone. All of them are alive and well. You’ve lost three. I can’t even imagine how you must feel, but I know that time is coming soon when the first one of us will be missed. Yes, that will be one awful day, but the memories will sustain us, as you point out so well.

    • Thank you so much, Darla. I also lost a niece at 15 yrs old and my only infant son shortly after birth. I’ve learned a lot about precious memories. Thank you so much for reading and taking the time to leave your lovely note. Blessings to you, my new friend. xoxo Julia

  14. beautifully written.. 😀

  15. audiart

    Thank you for sharing your hope and acceptance, it is a wonderful gift

  16. This post stayed with me after I had read it. The photo and words make it a powerful piece. Thank you for sharing it.

  17. Reblogged this on Cosmic Loti and commented:
    A touching and poignant piece by Julia.
    I’m dedicating it to all those who have lost loved ones, and still feel that empty space in their lives at Christmas.

    • OMGosh! Thank you so very much. I hope that it brings even the smallest comfort to someone who has lost a loved one and struggles with the upcoming holiday season. I know that I do. Take good care of yourself. xoJulia

      • meredith

        Reading Jas’ re-post of this post touched me deeply, and I allowed me the comfort to cry. Thank you… both of you. Sometimes, I think tears illuminate the value of losses I’ve learned to walk with, and so I am more grateful, and remember the beautiful things that are still in this world that I saw through the eyes of those I loved.

        Thank you.
        Meredith.

      • Meredith, I’m so sorry for your losses . . . and your tears, although they are in honor of your loved one and a healing thing. Thank you so much for reading and leaving your lovely thoughts; and sharing a part of your heart. It means the world to me. xoJulia

  18. what a beautiful spirit you have – I see it in your replies to others in this thread..

  19. Reading all the replies to the re-blog have brought tears to my eyes as well. Grief is a journey isn’t it. Long journeys are easier when shared with others, and I’m glad we’re all meeting up on ours.
    Thank you.

    • I am glad that we are meeting up too. And yes, grief is indeed a journey in itself. As much as we are able to love….that’s how much we are able to suffer. And such are our terms in this life. Your comments come on an emotional day for me, and bring me to a better place, so I thank you heartfully, for sharing yourself. Please know that you have brought comfort to someone today. xoJulia

  20. I hope you are in a more peaceful place today Julia. But thank you for telling me. That’s part of our job here, isn’t it, to support others on the journey. Love and blessings to you.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

