NEW YORK CITY **IS** ART!

I just returned from my first visit to New York City. It was wonderful and brief and I fell in love and somehow, I managed to miss out on every single art gallery and museum. Sheesh.

Why, you ask me? What happened?

I will now confirm the airheaded-ness that most of you have always suspected I possess, by telling you the truth. I forgot. I forgot all about the museums I have waited most of my life to see, because she seduced me.

New York City seduced me. And I loved every single crazy, magical moment of it.

How did she do it? With lights and colors and flashing billboards and music and vibrant electric people-energy! Here, let me give you a small glimpse.

I thought my seizures would have kicked in with all these colorful, flashing lights, but they didn’t. I only had one seizure, and that was during a performance of the Lion King. I hardly noticed though; I was having a panic attack because I was stuck in the middle of a row, and with all my sweating and deep breathing, it came and went unnoticed by anyone but me. What a case.

But a show unlike anything I have ever seen! The sets, costumes, music, and performances were off the charts! It transformed me to Africa!

And the biggest surprise? The City of New York herself is the most unique and stunning display of art I have ever seen!

I forgot all about galleries and museums because everywhere I looked I saw amazing things.

It started with the view from my room.

And the people on the streets. AS art. And making music.

 

 

NYC is the fashion capital of the world because even her buildings are the best dressed anywhere!

 

 

Even Mother Nature gets in on the act.

 

Sometimes her buildings are clad only in red, white, and blue.

 

 

Rockefeller Center.

 

I never imagined buildings as being beautiful. Until now. These unadorned and magnificent buildings decorate the skies.

 

 

 

Reflections of buildings.

Reflections of a child. (Do you see me?)

I even made a few creative new friends!

(Yikes! It looks as if I’m being groped! Lol).

But NYC is not limited to artful people and buildings. No, there are also plenty of wonderful sculptures!

 

 

 

 

And the message is everywhere.

We must not forget to . . .

Checkout time is 12:00 noon.

Gosh, I love this city. Until next time, New York . . .

Categories: Adventures, Art, Love, Patriotic/Political, Photography | Tags: , , , , , , | 30 Comments

Post navigation

30 thoughts on “NEW YORK CITY **IS** ART!

  1. Loved this post. The pictures told a great story.
    Ruth from At Home on the Road

  2. Great job! I love the view from your room!

    • Really? Thanks, Patti! It’s so difficult deciding which pics to use….so many to choose from! I hope I did okay. It never feels good enough. Thanks for making this trip possible by watching my babies! And thanks for reading and leaving me your two cents! lol Love to you! xoxo Julia

  3. You are too hard on yourself.
    Lol…I am happy to leave my two cents anytime someone will take it!
    :-*

  4. Julia – I really enjoyed seeing New York through your point of view! I have not been there yet myself, but I am sure each person experiences it through their own eyes, colored with their own individual vision of experiences. Thanks so much for sharing this wonderful place!

    • Thanks so much for joining me, Kim! I love that you enjoyed it! And you’re so sweet to leave me a note – thank you thank you thank you! xoxo Julia

  5. I know it’s been at least 15 years since I’ve been in NYC. This makes me want to go again even more. Looks like you had a grand time. But how could you not? What a place!
    Hugs,
    Kathy

    • Thanks, Kathryn! I had a really great person treat me to a trip! And another really great person helped me out with watching my babies! (cat & pup). You should check out my pomeranian on utube. Look up, “Baxter, the Pomeranian….” he has 5 videos I think. Today’s….he sings a note w/Billy Joel about NYC. lol Take good care! xoxo Julia

  6. Rob

    Nice job. You really are a most interesting person….to see the beauty in all the things that you saw. Some lament….not enough of a view beyond the buildings….others gray and dull skyscrapers….others…too many people…..or so many weird people….you just find beauty…God Bless you.

    • Thank you so much, Rob. I was just accused of viewing life through rose-colored glasses, but I know that’s not true. Rose-colored implies a denial of life as it really is. I don’t do that. I just choose to see, experience, and embrace the beauty….and to try to understand and change the bad. Thank you so much for your sweet words. What a gift they..and you…are. xoxo Julia

  7. What a great observation — the City itself as a work of art. You saved a ton of money!

    • Not really, Darla! Wow – what an expensive place to visit! lol Even without museum admissions. Cabs, meals, any kind of everyday purchase….really expensive. But what a wonderful and magical experience! Worth every single penny spent! I just fell in love! Thank you so much for reading and leaving me a note! You are so kind! xoxo Julia

  8. Lynn Gardner

    I love seeing New York through your eyes, Julia. I know you will be back because you haven’t finished your story yet. Hope you had a great time and can’t wait to here more!

    • Thank you so much, Lynn! You are SO correct! First of all, I have a bunch of NY stories still marinating in this crazy brain of mine….and secondly, I think several more trips would be necessary to fully-absorb this experience of NYC! What a wonderful adventure for us girls, ‘eh?!!! lol Thanks for always supporting me….and, Lynn…..it’s “hear”! ha ha ha! (Sorry, couldn’t resist! lol) xoxo Julia

  9. Thank you for taking me back to New York! I haven’t been in many many moons. I can see the excitement in you by your subject matter! So glad you had a wonderful, envigorating experience. Trips like this are good for the spirit.

    • Thanks so much, Saymber! You’re SO right – good for the spirit!!! I can hardly imagine my next adventure! Thanks for reading and commenting! xoxo Julia

  10. Sounds like a wonderful trip and I love the photos. I had a couple of trips there last year (that I blogged about) where I was seduced by the city as well. I’m so glad you visited my blog today so I could find you.

    • Me too, Lisa! I will check out those past blogs about NY of yours when I get some more time. Thanks so much for taking the time to read my piece. Take good care of your precious self! xo Julia

  11. Lynn Marchant.

    Who else but you, Julia, who would take a thousand-mile round trip to The Big Apple … to be FLAMBOYANTLY ‘groped’ by a life-sized Elmo, amongst other things? Colourful, magical dynamite … and somehow, you brought this super-sized doggy bag of it, for sharing. I lapped it up!!!

  12. Oh Julia, I don’t blame you, I’ve been there three times and have yet to see a museum! Oops! have seen shows and the monuments…but to stay cooped up inside when there’s all that to see, and Elmos to hug? (I hugged him too! I later wondered if I had been nuts to do that – I mean I didn’t even hesitate! lol – so glad to have a kindred spirit in that!) Thanks for sharing your photos and journey with us. Meet you in NY ? 🙂

    • Oh, what a dream that would be!!! What wonderful fun and adventure! I never say never! Take good care and thanks so much, Heather! xoxo Julia

  13. Sandy Leighton-Donahue

    I sooo want to go to NEW YORK CITY!! Great review, Julia!

  14. Awesome view from your room and nice ‘art’.

  15. I think it’s time I return to NYC. There is so much to see and do that one weekend is not enough 🙂

    • I know, Lesley! I already want to go back and see everything I missed! Thanks for reading. And for the “follow”! Take good care. xoxoJulia

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

