THE WHITE SHIRT

There he is, so handsome in his dark suit and white dress shirt. Even the sun celebrates our reunion as she bounces off the skyscrapers and dances teasingly on the rim of his glasses.

“Julia!” He calls to me.

I love the way he says my name. It sounds so eloquent and romantic, adorned in his educated accented European-ness.

I go to him and climb into his open arms.

My hands slide beneath his suit and pull him close. My face finds that place where his neck and shoulder meet, and nestles there. His shirt is crisp, cool, and fresh. I like its starchy white formality. His muscles tighten beneath my hands. I like that, too.

We stand still in our embrace. I could stay this way forever and live a lifetime with my face buried in the safety of his shirt.

Passion, like hunger, will subside if you ignore it long enough. Things go silent. I thought them departed, but they were only dormant.

Now he is igniting me; like starting a car . . . or a fire.

Through closed eyes the moments come, overwhelming me, reminding me . . . of all the wanting, of all the empty nights, and the eternal missing hours.

“Uhhh . . . I forgot how good this feels” I whisper.

He pulls me closer.

“I’m so glad I forgot”, I whimper, “It would have been excruciating”.

Remembering that this is just a visit and our time limited, a feeling of dread washes over me as a new thought comes. I say nothing and quietly fight the tears . . .

“Now, I will have to forget all over again.”

CLOSE UP the one!

Categories: Love, Romance/Dating | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , | 35 Comments

Post navigation

35 thoughts on “THE WHITE SHIRT

  1. Um, I don’t even know if I want to go there. . .but I know exactly what you mean.

  2. daviddharma

    Very touching and very sad. Well spoken though. Thanks Julia

  3. ethel carver

    precious

  4. Beautiful!
    :-*

  5. “Passion, like hunger, will subside if you ignore it long enough.”
    So good.

  6. The beautiful story and written by Julia I remembered ” Romeo + Julia” or “Romeo + Juliet” depending on the language, written by William Shakespeare in 1597. The pics with the white shirt speaks more than100 words…

    • I’m thrilled that you like it! With the pic, I wanted to capture me wrapped in the shirt….and in thoughts of him….and me feeling closer to him while wearing it. It was difficult to get a camera angle that focused on something acceptable to me, so as you can see, I limited how much of myself was actually in it! Thank you for reading, dearest friend. Be well. xoJulia

  7. Love your writing, Julia. It stirs emotion, which is exactly what the reader needs.
    Blessings

  8. totally captivating! Vivid imagery and emotion provoking, thank you for waking me up! 😀 haha

  9. Pingback: Without A Word – A Passionate Romantic Monday Post | Edward Hotspur

  10. I’m hungry for more! So much talent…

    • Thank you so much, Nicole! I wondered if you ever read the “Reckless Prophets” I wrote some time back. I know you didn’t attend the event because you were out of town, but I posted it to your fb wall. I did make mention of you and included a pic of your work. I also wrote a piece, “Unexpected Awakening” about Pat Izzo and Martine MacDonalds show, “But I’m Awake Now”. I think you would like it. I hope you are well and that we can meet up soon for a coffee and a chat. Take good care and thank you so much for reading and leaving me a note! It means the world to me. xoJulia

  11. Beautifully bittersweet Julia!
    I love the smell of a crisp starchy white shirt.. 🙂

  12. Pingback: I’M SORRY TOO – A ROMANTIC MONDAY POST « hastywords

  13. Amazingly beautiful!

  14. Lynn Gardner

    Beautifully written, Julia! Maybe I should put on one of those white shirts….mmmmm?

  15. Loved this, Julia! And the pic in the white shirt is just right.

    • Thank you so much! I appreciate it. My friend snapped the pic. We had to fuss around and take a few, but I kind of knew what I wanted. The camera really doesn’t like me…it’s a mutual dislike! lol So I’ve narrowed down the parts of my face I can deal with….man, doesn’t leave much, ‘eh? ha ha. Although I do like my eyes…just not the bags under them. Thanks so much for reading and leaving me a note. You’re a doll! Be well, my friend. xoJulia

  16. Beautiful. I can totally relate to this. Some things are so amazing that you need to forget about them so that you don’t get hurt, once they are over.

    • That’s it, exactly. You have to forget about them…..because if you don’t, you will long and ache for them. Thank you so much for your kind words. I really appreciate it. Take good care. xoJulia

  17. jaynepevans

    Bittersweet moments can be the hardest. It is the sweetness of the memory that makes it a good one worth remembering.

  18. Annette

    A white shirt, a blue robe or a green polo – The feeling is the same, the tears are real and the pain is the same. Well written – brings a tear to my eyes.

    • Thank you, Annette. Yes, these things have the value that our heart and memories place on them. I feel closer to him….when I wear the shirt. Thank you so much for reading my blog and leaving your wonderful note. It means so much to me. Take care. xoJulia

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

