I’M NOT NEEDY

I DON’T NEED TO . . .

. . . ALWAYS BE RIGHT. Sometimes being kind is more important.

. . . ALWAYS DO MY BEST. Sometimes less than that is okay too.

. . . ALWAYS GIVE MY OPINION. Sometimes it’s not needed/wanted.

. . . TALK SO MUCH. Sometimes listening is more important.

. . . BE AN ADDICT in order to cope with life.

. . . CRITICIZE OR DIMINISH OTHERS to feel good about myself.

. . . STEAL YOUR THUNDER. I will always let you shine.

. . . ONE UP YOU. Our friendship is not a competition.

. . . BE IN A RELATIONSHIP to feel complete. I complete me.

. . . JUDGE OTHERS. I will tend to my own garden.

I DON’T NEED TO . . .

. . . BE A SIZE 6 to feel good about myself.

. . . UNDERSTAND ART to love it.

. . . AGREE WITH YOU to respect you.

. . . ACCEPT ABUSE FROM ANYONE. You do NOT have my permission.

. . . PROVE MY POWER. Having it is good enough.

. . . BE VALIDATED by anyone.

. . . BE EMBARRASSED. It’s good to laugh at myself.

. . . HAVE A DESTINATION. Sometimes the joy is in the journey.

. . . UNDERSTAND YOU to love you.

. . . LAUGH AT YOUR EXPENSE. Although I love to laugh at mine.

I DON’T NEED TO . . .

. . . LET BIPOLAR DISORDER DEFINE ME. I am so much more.

. . . LET GRIEF DESTROY ME. I embrace the love and the pain.

. . . ALWAYS BE STRONG. I can ask for help.

. . . BE LIKE YOU. Being me is just fine.

. . . CLOSE MY EYES to see your face.

. . . LIE. I am brave enough to be honest and gentle.

. . . HAVE A LOT OF FRIENDS. The ones I have love me well.

. . . BE GRACEFUL to be a lady.

. . . TALK SO MUCH. It bears repeating.

. . . EAT A SHIT SANDWICH to know I wouldn’t like one.

Categories: Inspiration/Motivation | Tags: , , , , , | 23 Comments

Post navigation

23 thoughts on “I’M NOT NEEDY

  1. Oh, Jules….I love you!

    • Oh, Joanie, thank you SO much! I was just sitting here questioning whether to delete this post or not! Your words of encouragement always mean so much to me….Thank you! Love you too! xoxoJulia

  2. I love it!
    Well said my friend!

  3. Keith Wissman

    Bravo!

  4. Fantastic. I don’t know why you were considering deleting that, it was inspired.

    Would love to talk about each line individually but the comment would be longer than the post. Suffice to say, brilliant!

    • Thank you, Steven. I needed to hear those words…..I have a sneaking suspicion that we could talk for HOURS about every single item on this post!!! I have just read your blog and I found it to be sensitive, genuine, and intelligent….and I thank you for sharing it. We will maybe have to figure something out where we can communicate on a more one-to-one basis? Would you be up for that? I find you amazing and inspiring and unbelievably strong. Take care, my dear new friend. And know that you are not alone. I am right here with you. Blessings and peace to you. xoxoJulia

      • Each statement could be expanded into a post all of it’s own, that’s a powerful piece of writing!

        I would be more than happy to chat away, I don’t think we would be lost for words. You can e-mail me any time you want or as another way of contacting suits you better then just let me know.

        Steven

  5. Brava.

  6. I love this. The rules for being a perfect human being.

    • Awwww….that’s the sweetest comment, ever! Thank you so much for reading my blog and taking the time to leave such a lovely note. You have delivered this morning’s first smile. Thank you. xoxoJulia

  7. Ditto to all that you posted here, Julia. Especially the need not to lie. I support this one to the nth degree.
    blessings ~ maxi

  8. Carol

    Your heart and soul are wonderfully connected…as evidenced by your all-encompassing list. Each time I read it, I see a little more of my SELF. Thank you for sharing the layers of YOU. ❤

    • Oh my goodness! Thank you so much for your kind words! And thank you for taking the time to leave them! It means so much to me….you just can’t imagine. xoxoJulia

  9. Daan said it better than I could . . . the rules of being a good human being. Julia, you are so insightful! Thank you for writing this, sharing it and NOT deleting it. Love you!

  10. jeff heck

    LOVE THIS!

    • Thank you SO SO much, Jeff! Your opinion means a lot to me. And thanks just for taking the time to read my blog. I really appreciate it. Take good care! xoJulia

  11. Iˇ¦ll immediately snatch your rss feed as I can not to find your email subscription hyperlink or e-newsletter service. Do you have any? Please allow me know in order that I may subscribe. Thanks.

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

