YOUR GIFT

I am thinking of you so far away.

You must be sleeping now.

Snoring and alone – waiting for me to place myself inside your arms.

Your sounds comfort and reassure me.

I long for you.

What you have given me . . .

– more than the food I eat

or the greeting cards I read

– more than the things we plan

or where we decide to meet

– more than the gifts you give

or the way you make me feel

You have given me something I can cling to . . .

hope

Categories: Holidays/Birthdays, Love, Poetry, Romance/Dating | Tags: , , , , | 28 Comments

Post navigation

28 thoughts on “YOUR GIFT

  1. t h i n g s + f l e s h

    i find sustenance, warmth, and light in your reflective poem. serious and graceful, it’s testimony to the strength and beauty of the human spirit … hope. tony

  2. Beautiful

  3. Oh, what a lovely poem, Julia! Hope you are doing well.

    Sara and I are getting settled in Ecuador and I’m trying to get back to blogging. I’ve been too distracted the past couple of months.

    Take care, m friend!

    Hugs,
    Kathy

    • Hi Kathryn! (And Sara!)…..I was just reading your blog today, but I haven’t commented yet. I wanted to give it the attention it deserves. So happy to hear that you are both well and adjusting to your new life. Love and blessings to you both! xoxoJulia

  4. oops–my friend

  5. Beautiful, Julia!

  6. Hi Julia.

    What a wonderful poem! I am so jealous as I am absolutely hopeless at poetry. No really I am.

    I also got your lovely message about my blog. Thank you 🙂 It’s really nice when you know someone actually reads it. Plus, that’s yet another person passing on the message! I look forward to reading back through your blog and to your new posts. You’re right, people do think I love lovely in dresses so it’s not all bad!

    Take care

    • I don’t think of myself as much of a poet, really. I usually write short little essays about this or that. As far as I’m concerned, there are no rules or write or wrong when it comes to poetry, so you should give it a go, girlfriend! It’s just like the lovely little dresses that you bucked having to wear . . . Take care, my new friend. I’m looking forward to another chat on one of our next blogs! lol xoxoJulia

  7. I love it! Yet again you know just the right words to say.

  8. Lynn Gardner

    How wonderful and truthful and insightful! ❤ Julia you are an artist with words!

  9. Loved the verse.

    What jumped out at me are the closing lines:

    “You have given me something I can cling to . . .

    hope.”

    This is possibly the greatest gift that a human can give to another. What could we do to support all those we come in touch in this manner?

    Shakti

    • Thank you so much, Shakti! Your words are your gift! Thank you for reading and leaving me your wonderful note! xoJulia

  10. So lovely…what a beautiful gift…hope

  11. Pingback: YOUR GIFT | Journey with Julia

  12. spinnler

    such gifts are always with you, no matter where you are…nobody can steal it…such gifts will make you unique…a touchy poem!

  13. As long as we have hope, life is worth the living.
    blessings ~ maxi

  14. Beautiful!

  15. Love this, Julia. 🙂

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

