ONE STEP BEYOND

Can you imagine how dull life’s travels would be if all the roads were straight? WINDING ROAD

I used to feel anxious and off balance by life’s many twists and turns, and navigating them was as much fun as trying to drive through quicksand.

But I know that beautiful and astonishing discoveries are not going to come and find me at home on my sofa where I am safely tucked away in my comfort zone.

I have to take a deep breath and put my uncertainty aside. I have to make the effort and physically leave the house.

I have to take one single step . . . beyond the familiar.

I have learned that with a new point of view, a few tools, and a little practice, that these twists and turns, these disruptions and deviations, can teach me fun new driving skills and lead to wonderful and exciting experiences.

Instead of anxiety, I call it excitement. And instead of fearing the unknown, I now seek it. And embrace it. I celebrate the newness and am giddy with anticipation.

Sometimes, the greatest joy is in the journey . . . and the destination is just a happy consequence!

Categories: Adventures, Inspiration/Motivation, Nature | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , | 14 Comments

Post navigation

14 thoughts on “ONE STEP BEYOND

  1. Gerri

    Thank you Julia, just what I needed today. Was feeling what you were describing and and drove, parked and walked and walked on this beautiful day. Met new friends Joe and Lucy, 88 years young. ❤

    • Oh, Gerri, thank you so much for reading my blog and leaving me your wonderful note! I’m so happy that you got out and walked….and look where you found yourself….making new friends! That’s terrific. Take good care, my friend, and be well. xoJulia

  2. I’m glad you were able to leave your comfort zone and have jumped into the driver’s seat!
    I am also very happy to be able to ride shot gun on many of your journeys!
    :-*

  3. That first step outside the comfort zone is a bit scary, but once it’s done, another and another taken–a whole new world is opened to us. Thanks for sharing your journey.

  4. This is a great way of looking at the road ahead. I love Gerri’s comment above.

  5. Rarely does one regret doing something as much as one regrets NOT doing something. Sometimes the best things in life are the hardest. I am happy you are brave!

  6. jaynepevans

    I really needed that today! Thank you!!! You just never know what might be around the bend! I really liked when you said, “Instead of anxiety, I call it excitement. And instead of fearing the unknown, I now seek it. And embrace it. I celebrate the newness and am giddy with anticipation.” That’s perfect!

  7. Sometimes I really need this reminder. It IS easier to stay home in ones comfort zone. Sometimes Sara and I are both too inclined to hang out on the couch. How did we make it to South America?

    Hugs from Ecuador,
    Kathy

    • Dear Kathryn….I would think that you’re the LAST person in the world who hides in the security of their sofa! You travel the world! haha. Thank you for reading and for leaving a note. Best regards and much love to you and Sara! xoJulia

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

